Wolston Brandon and Bretford Joint Burial Committee Terms of Reference

Wolston Brandon and Bretford Joint Burial Committee (the Joint Burial Committee) was established on 1st April 2018 in accordance with the requirements of the Local Government Act 1972, (Schedule 26, paragraph 2). The Joint Burial Committee is a Committee of Wolston Parish Council.

Terms of Reference of the Committee:

The Committee shall:

- consist of seven members, of which four shall be nominated by Wolston Parish Council and three by Brandon and Bretford Parish Council;
- 2 conduct its business in a manner consistent with the requirements and guidance which applies to Parish Councils, and in particular with regard to the Policies, Procedures and governing documents of Wolston Parish Council;
- appoint a Clerk, who shall have the same responsibilities to the Joint Burial Committee as a Clerk / Responsible Financial Officer to a Parish Council; the Joint Burial Committee shall determine the Salary of the Clerk, based on advice from the HR Working Group of Wolston PC;
- do all that is necessary or desirable for the proper management, regulation, and control of the cemetery in Dyers Lane, Wolston including, et al, provision of adequate land and setting regulations for the operational and financial management of the cemetery, in order to implement fully the responsibilities of both Brandon and Bretford Parish Council and Wolston Parish Council, the latter in its role as the Burial Authority;
- 5 manage its affairs in such a manner that it is financially independent of both Brandon and Bretford and Wolston Parish Councils, other than the right to precept as set out at 6) below;
- have authority to raise finances through an annual precept on both Wolston Parish Council, (who shall be responsible for 2/3 of the total precept) and Brandon and Bretford Parish Council, (who shall be responsible for 1/3 of the total precept).
- pay particular regard to the Local Authorities Cemeteries Order 1977 and the relevant requirements of Local Government Act 1972, and all other relevant legislation, all as from time to time amended.

Agreed on 28th March 2019 at Minute JBC 28.2019